Finally, after a regular season that occupied parts of nine months — starting in the final week of September — the focus now shifts to the B. League Championship.

Which leaves us with eight teams in the hunt for the title, and another 10 left behind. But the Yokohama B-Corsairs, Toyama Grouses, Nishinomiya Storks and Shimane Susanoo Magic must vie to remain in the top flight by participating in the upcoming relegation-promotion playoffs. Their status for next season will depend on it.

The playoffs appear to be a wide-open competition. The final is set for May 26 at Yokohama Arena.

Source: Mikawa favored for title as playoffs start with eight teams | The Japan Times